The house was built in 1924 as a private home for Mrs A.B Gilroy, the widow of a Dundee jute baron and was designed by well known Dundee architect Donald Mills, who also designed the formal terraced garden to the south of the house. This turreted mansion house, set in ten acres of award-winning gardens, has been privately owned and personally managed by the Russell family since 1952, when the seven bedroomed house was converted into a small hotel. In those days country house hotels were almost unheard of and Rufflets was regarded as somewhat unique, not just in Fife, but in the whole of Scotland. The house has been tastefully extended over the years and the interior refurbished to match the exacting standards expected of a small luxury country house. Service is friendly and personal in the true sense of Scottish hospitality.